Skip to content

Chairs, Spider Silk, and Books

August 9, 2012

Here’s my favorite scene in the movie Phenomenon. Doc is talking to Banes, a man  having trouble in the romance department…
Doc: Banes…how’s your lady love?
Banes: We… um… we broke up.
Doc: Really? That’s too bad, yeah. Now George has a love at his side and she is sticking with him. You know why? Because he bought her chairs. That’s pretty smart to me. You ever buy Lisa’s chairs?…Every woman has her chair, something she needs to put herself into, Banes. You ever figure out what Lisa’s chairs were and buy ’em?  In fact each one of us has our “chairs” – an endeavor we pour our hearts and souls into, that vehicle we use to express who really we are.  They are our gift to eternity, our love letter to the world.

My favorite poem of all time was written by Walt Whitman, “Noiseless, Patient Spider”.  (For those of you with spider phobias, just substitute the word “silk-worm” for “spider” & you’ll get the same idea.)  The jist of it …

NOISELESS, patient spider stood, isolated & to explore the vacant, vast surrounding, It launch’d forth filament, filament, filament, out of itself; Ever unreeling them–ever tirelessly speeding them….And you, O my Soul, where you stand, surrounded in measureless oceans of space, Ceaselessly musing, venturing, throwing,–seeking the spheres, to connect them; Till the bridge you will need, be form’d–till the ductile anchor hold;  Till the gossamer thread you fling, catch somewhere, O my Soul.

You’re probably wondering what the heck? Get to the point already.  What do chairs have to do with spider silk?  The point is that’s what my books are.  They are the vehicle I use to express who I am – to share myself with you.  They are my gossamer thread that I am flinging out into the universe on faith that my words will catch onto someone’s heart and connect us.  Because it’s not JUST a “product” – it’s very personal.  And even though I try not to – it affects me when someone I care about (or says they care about me) passes up the opportunity to get to know me better.  It gives me pause when I realize that people I’ve known my entire life are not even curious about me.  I am grateful for so many who aggressively got their signed copy.  Each one of you knew what you were buying and that it wasn’t JUST a book.  I am also delighted by the new friendships that have come my way because people I would have never crossed paths with otherwise were moved by what I had to share.  But isn’t that what life is all about?  Those of us who make connections will be here for each other.  All else will ultimately fall away and be forgotten.

Twisted Passage & Sex Warrior are available at www.PersonalAsItGets.com

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

